post Image

About Us


Working together to promote wellness, prevent and protect against disease and injury, and advocate for healthier communities.

For more than 80 years, the Eastern Ontario Health Unit (EOHU) has been a leader in delivering forward-thinking, community-focused public health services. Our achievements are driven by our passionate and energetic team of employees who share a common mission – to improve and safeguard the health and quality of life of our region’s residents.

The EOHU is responsible for the delivery of local public health programs and services, carried out in collaboration with other organizations in the health system and in partnership with municipal governments and community stakeholders. We serve a population of approximately 200,000 people in the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas & Glengarry, Prescott-Russell and the City of Cornwall, covering a total territory of over 5000 square kilometers. Our main offices are located in Cornwall and Casselman, with four additional satellite offices in Winchester, Alexandria, Hawkesbury and Rockland.

EOHU programs include the following:
  • health education and promotion
  • chronic disease prevention (through nutrition and physical activity programs, early detection of cancer programs, tobacco cessation programs, tobacco control and more)
  • prevention of injuries and substance misuse
  • prevention and control of infectious diseases
  • immunization
  • sexual and reproductive health
  • child health, including dental health programs
  • school and workplace health programs
  • monitoring and surveillance programs
  • public health inspections
  • food and water safety
  • health hazard prevention
  • emergency preparedness

The EOHU has also established itself as a leader in innovative public health communications by embracing a progressive communications strategy that leverages emerging trends and cutting-edge technology to better reach and engage our audiences. The EOHU is one of the only Public Health agencies in North America with complete in-house broadcast and multimedia production facilities and capabilities. This cost effective and environmentally-friendly way of delivering health information content is an important part of our strategy to promote an informed and therefore, healthier community.

EOHU services are cost-shared by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas & Glengarry and Prescott-Russell, and the City of Cornwall.


images/strat_plan_cover_e.jpg images/strat_plan_cover_e.jpg

Message from the Medical Officer of Health

Welcome to our website! As you can see from the sections on this site, public health involves many aspects of our everyday lives. In fact, many are surprised to see that the Eastern Ontario Health Unit (EOHU) is involved in a wide range of areas including infection control, chronic disease prevention, healthy babies and children, environment, food and water safety, and the promotion of a healthy lifestyle.

We believe that when it comes to health and wellness, an informed person will become a healthier person. We are committed to providing our community with useful, practical and easily accessible information. For this reason we offer you this website, which we will continue to expand.

You will also find interesting links to other sites we feel may be helpful to you. Please be advised that the information on this site has been carefully selected and prepared. However, this information is designed to be an educational aid only. It is not intended to replace the advice and care of your physician, nor is it intended to be used for medical diagnosis or treatment. If you suspect that you or a family member has a medical condition, always consult a physician. If you would like to have more information or have any other public health concerns, you can also call the EOHU at 1 800 267-7120.

We look forward to your feedback and suggestions.

Dr. Paul Roumeliotis, MD, CM, MPH, FRCP (C)
Medical Officer of Health


The EOHU Board of Health

The EOHU Board of Health is responsible for identifying minimum standards relating to public health programs and services, for understanding health needs and the interventions that can impact positively on these needs, and which roles are most appropriate for and within the achievable capacity of Ontario’s boards of health.

The Board is made up of eleven members: five are provincially appointed. Of the remaining six, two are appointed for the counties of Prescott-Russell, two for the counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry and two for the city of Cornwall. The Board of Health is an upper decisional body and is responsible for budget approval.

Board of Health members

NOTE: Any correspondence should be sent to the care of the EOHU Cornwall office.

Gerry Boyce

Gerry Boyce, Chairperson, Representative of the United Counties of SDG

Gerry Boyce has been living in North Dundas since 1964, and owns a farm in South Mountain. He is currently serving his first term as Deputy Mayor of the Township of North Dundas. Gerry worked in management at a local milk processing plant for 20 years, and also owned a bottled water business for 15 years. He is now working part time as a Motor Coach operator for McCoy Bus Lines & Tours.

Gerry has been an active volunteer in his community, serving on a number of boards representing the Township and Counties. He has been past President of the Mountain Township Agricultural Fair, the Winchester Lions Club, the Mountain Trailblazers Snowmobile Club, and the Morrisburg & District Canadian Club, where he is currently an Executive Director. Gerry was also a volunteer with the Mountain Township Fire Department for 30 years, serving his last few years as Deputy Chief. He is also a member of the Rebuilding Committee for St. Daniel Catholic Church in South Mountain. Gerry is married to Lorna, with whom he has three children: Emily, Grant and Jenna.

Gérard Bertrand

Gérard Bertrand, Vice-Chair, Provincial Representative

Gérard Bertrand is a retired federal government of Canada employee whose career with the government spanned thirty-three years. Mr. Bertrand has served as Reeve of Cambridge Township, member of the United Counties of Prescott Russell, member of the Seaway District Health Council and Vice-President of the Children's Aid Society of Prescott-Russell Board of Directors.

Gary J. Barton

Gary Barton,
Representative of the United Counties of Prescott-Russell
Mayor, Champlain Township

Gary Barton resides in Vankleek Hill with his wife, Jean. Together they have four children. Mr. Barton is a retired educator and former principal of Vankleek Hill Collegiate Institute. Since 1972, he has been involved in municipal politics. In 2003, Mr. Barton was given the honour of becoming mayor of Champlain Township.

Community is important to Mr. Barton. This value is clearly demonstrated through his extensive community involvement over the last 40 years, which includes being an active member of the Vankleek Hill Historical Society and Board of Health member.

Bernadette Clement

Bernadette Clément, Representative of the City of Cornwall

Bernadette Clément graduated from the University of Ottawa with degrees in both Civil Law and Common Law. She has worked as a lawyer at the Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Legal Aid Clinic for the past 25 years and is currently its Deputy Director. Ms. Clément also sits as a Board Member of many community agencies. She was elected to the Cornwall City Council in 2006 and is currently in her third term.

Debora M. Daigle

Debora M. Daigle, Provincial Representative

Debora is a graduate of Queen’s University – first in Social Sciences, and later with a Master’s of Public Administration. She has spent her career in Provincial and Municipal government, managing delivery of Social Housing, Social Services, and Childcare to residents of Cornwall and the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas & Glengarry. Since retiring recently, Debora continues her involvement in research and policy development for the Province of Ontario through various sector organizations, on a consulting basis. Debora has extensive experience in healthcare governance, having served previously on the Boards of The Ottawa Hospital, and the Ontario Hospital Association; she is currently on the Boards of the Seaway Valley Community Health Centre and Cornwall Community Hospital. She also recently joined the Board of the St. Lawrence River Institute of Environmental Sciences.

Gilles Fournier

Gilles Fournier, Provincial Representative

Gilles Fournier was born in Vankleek Hill, Ontario where he has now lived for more than 50 years. After graduating from Vankleek Hill Collegiate Institute, Gilles began to work for his family business while taking classes at Ottawa University where he obtained his degree in Business Administration. During this time Gilles also acquired his Real Estate Licence from the Real Estate Council of Ontario. In 2002, he accepted the position of Operations Manager at DFL International in Hawkesbury. As an active member of the community he has served on various boards, as a School Trustee for the CEPEO and as volunteer with recreational leagues.

Syd Gardiner

Syd Gardiner, Provincial Representative

Sydney Gardiner was elected to Cornwall City Council and served 11 years. During that time, Mr. Gardiner served on numerous boards including the Eastern Ontario Health Unit, Emergency Management, Tourism Bureau, Cornwall Regional Airport, and Cornwall Public Library. He also served as President and Vice-President at the Aultsville Theatre for 14 years. As City Councillor, Mr. Gardiner was instrumental in passing a non-smoking bylaw, making the City of Cornwall the first small city in Ontario to go smoke-free.

Mr. Gardiner attended high school at Gault Institute in Valleyfield, Quebec. He upgraded his schooling at St. Lawrence College in Cornwall, Ontario where he later was invited to teach retail as part of the Marketing Program.

Mr. Gardiner’s employment record includes working as Operations Manager at the Warehousing Distribution and Sales Center for M.C.A Records Canada in Calgary, Alberta, servicing all of western Canada. He later was hired by Capitol Records E.M.I. Montreal in the same capacity, to oversee Capitol’s eastern Canada operations. Mr. Gardiner retired after being employed with Sears Canada for 28 years.

In his leisure time, Mr. Gardiner enjoys golfing in the summer, curling in the winter, and has a passion for singing and playing guitar.

Mary Johnson

Mary Johnson, Provincial Representative

Mary Johnson is originally from the eastern region. Her career debuted as a registered nurse but has extended to over 30 years of experience in healthcare delivery and management. Notably, Mary Johnson spent eight and a half years as Director of Public Health Nursing in Fort McMurray, Alberta. She also served seven years as Director of Care and VP of Clinical Services with the Northern Lights Regional Health Centre. In her role as Community Development Manager with AWASAK Child and Family Services Authority, Mrs. Johnson worked closely with numerous agency partners to facilitate Alberta's first successful Family Resource Centre. In addition to her nursing background, Mrs. Johnson served as the Deputy Director of Emergency Response for the city of Fort McMurray, Alberta and holds a number of certifications related to health services management and emergency response.

Locally, Mary has worked with the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care to develop one of the province's first Nurse-Practitioner-Led clinics located in South Glengarry.

In her role as a Board of Health member, Mary Johnson's experience in the facilitation of common community goals enables her to create more awareness surrounding the need to address social determinants and the philosophy of health promotion and prevention. As previous Chair, Mary also represented the Eastern Ontario Health Unit to the Provincial Board of Health, along with representation to provincial committees and the local Champlain LHIN.

Robert Kirby

Robert Kirby, Representative of the United Counties of Prescott-Russell
Mayor, Township of Hawkesbury East

The Kirby family has been established in Chute-à-Blondeau for 200 years. Robert Kirby was born in 1947 in Chute-à-Blondeau. He, his wife Judy Barton and son still share the family home.

Robert has been a farmer all his life. In partnership with his brother John, nephew J.D, and son Shane, he pursues the family tradition on the family dairy farm. He is bilingual and very active in his community. He is responsible for the welcoming of the International Plowing Match in 2011, a major event.

For the first time in politics, Robert Kirby was elected Mayor of the Township of East Hawkesbury in December 2003 and was reelected by acclamation in 2006. He has been an active member of the Eastern Ontario Health Unit's Board of Health since 2003. He was Warden for the United Counties of Prescott and Russell for the year 2009.

Ian McLeod

Ian McLeod, Representative of the United Counties of SDG
Mayor, Township of South Glengarry
Warden, United Counties of SDG

Ian and his wife Janice live in a rural area outside of North Lancaster, Ontario. They have four daughters, three who currently are employed in Calgary and one attending Queen’s University. They have resided at this location for the past 35 years. Ian graduated from Queen’s University with a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering and is designated as a “Consulting Engineer”. Currently, Ian is the manager of the municipal department at Genivar, a consulting engineering firm in Cornwall. As such, he has worked with many municipalities throughout eastern Ontario and understands the many challenges that municipalities face.

Ian was elected as Councillor for South Glengarry in 1997 and retained that position until 2010. In 2010, he was elected as Deputy Mayor and then became Mayor of South Glengarry in 2011. As of 2012, he is also serving as Warden of SDG. Over the past years, Ian has served on numerous boards, including many of which he served as chairman. He looks forward to serving on the EOHU Board of Health.

André Rivette

André Rivette, Representative of the City of Cornwall
Councillor, City of Cornwall

André Rivette is a Cornwall native with over 25 years of experience in various supervisory fields, as Marina Manager, Landscape Supervisor, Project Coordinator, Workplace Trainer and Acting Executive Director. Mr. Rivette also has 15 years of experience in sales and is currently retired from Le/The Journal as Sales Manager.

Mr. Rivette was first elected to Cornwall City Council in 1998 where he served two terms. He was then re-elected in 2006. In 2010, Mr. Rivette was re-elected for a fourth term of Council and he presently sits on a number of Boards, most notably the Eastern Ontario Health Unit Board of Health, the Cornwall Community Police Services Board, and the Lay Appointments Committee. He has also served on the Raisin Region Conservation Authority, the Waterfront Committee, the Cornwall & Area Housing Authority, the Cornwall Transit Comprehensive Review Committee and the Grant Research Team, and as chairman of the Board of Management for Glen Stor Dun Lodge.

His interests and hobbies include a love of music, volunteering in various sports organizations and taking career-oriented courses.

Mr. Rivette is married to Susan. They have two children, Rodney and Tracey, and one granddaughter named Alex.

Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario

À propos


Agir ensemble à la promotion du bien-être, à la prévention et à la protection contre les maladies et les blessures, et aux interventions qui favorisent des communautés en santé.

Depuis plus de 80 ans, le Bureau de santé de l’est de l’Ontario (BSEO) est un chef de file lorsqu’il s’agit d’offrir des services de santé publique avant-gardistes et axés sur la communauté. Nos réalisations sont guidées par notre équipe d’employés passionnés et dynamiques qui partagent une mission commune – améliorer et protéger la santé et la qualité de vie des résidents de notre région.

Le BSEO est chargé de la prestation de programmes et de services de santé publique locaux, mis en œuvre en collaboration avec d'autres organisations du système de santé et en partenariat avec des administrations municipales et des intervenants communautaires. Couvrant un territoire de plus de 5 000 kilomètres carrés, le BSEO offre des services à 200 000 résidents de Cornwall, des comtés unis de Stormont, Dundas et Glengarry ainsi que des comtés unis de Prescott et Russell. Nos bureaux principaux sont situés à Cornwall et Casselman, avec quatre bureaux satellites supplémentaires à Winchester, Alexandria, Hawkesbury et Rockland.

Les programmes offerts par le Bureau de santé sont les suivants :

  • éducation en matière de santé et promotion de la santé
  • prévention des maladies chroniques (par le truchement de programmes de nutrition et d'activité physique, de programmes de détection précoce du cancer, de programmes de renoncement au tabac et de lutte contre le tabagisme)
  • prévention des blessures et du mésusage de substances
  • prévention et contrôle des maladies infectieuses
  • immunisation
  • santé sexuelle et reproductive
  • santé de l’enfant, y compris les programmes de soins dentaires
  • programmes de santé en milieu scolaire et au travail
  • programme de contrôle et de surveillance
  • inspections sanitaires
  • salubrité des aliments et de l'eau
  • prévention des risques pour la santé
  • préparation aux situations d'urgence

Le BSEO s’est aussi forgé une place enviable de chef de file en matière de communication novatrice en santé publique par l’adoption d’une stratégie des communications progressive qui profite des tendances nouvelles et des technologies de pointe pour mieux rejoindre et engager notre public. Le BSEO est l’une des seules agences de santé publique en Amérique du Nord munie des installations et de l’expertise nécessaires à la production et la diffusion multimédia. Ce moyen rentable et écosympathique de livrer l’information sur la santé est un élément important de notre stratégie pour favoriser une communauté avisée et donc en meilleure santé.

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, les comtés unis de Stormont, Dundas et Glengarry, les comtés unis de Prescott et Russell, ainsi que la Ville de Cornwall se partagent les coûts des services offerts par le Bureau de santé.


Message du Médecin hygiéniste

Bienvenue sur notre site Web! Comme vous pouvez le constater en voyant le nombre de sections du site, la santé publique touche de nombreux aspects de notre vie quotidienne. En fait, beaucoup de gens sont étonnés de voir que le Bureau de santé de l’est de l’Ontario (BSEO) est présent dans bien des domaines comme l'immunization, la prévention des maladies chroniques, la santé des bébés et des enfants, l’environnement, la salubrité des aliments et de l’eau, et la promotion de modes de vie sains.

Selon nous, quand il s’agit de santé et de bien-être, une personne informée met de son côté toutes les chances d’améliorer sa santé. Nous sommes déterminés à fournir aux gens de notre collectivité de l’information utile, pratique et facilement accessible. C’est pour cette raison que nous vous proposons notre site Web, qui continuera d’ailleurs à prendre de l’expansion.

Vous y trouverez également des liens intéressants vers d’autres sites qui pourraient vous être utiles. Bien que les renseignements présentés dans notre site aient minutieusement été choisis et préparés, ils ne visent qu’à vous informer. Ils n’ont aucunement pour but de remplacer les conseils et les soins de votre médecin, ni d’être utilisés aux fins de diagnostic ou de traitement médical. Consultez toujours un médecin si votre santé ou celle d’un membre de votre famille vous inquiète. Si vous désirez obtenir plus d’information ou si vous avez des préoccupations dont il n’est pas question dans le site, vous pouvez aussi appeler le BSEO au 1 800 267-7120.

Vos commentaires et vos suggestions sont toujours les bienvenus!

Le médecin hygiéniste,
Dr Paul Roumeliotis, M.D., C.M., M.P.H., F.R.C.P. (C)


Le Conseil de santé du BSEO

Le Conseil de la santé a la responsabilité d’identifier les normes minimums à respecter pour la mise en place de programmes et de services en santé publique. Il assume également la tâche de comprendre les besoins de la population en matière de santé et de déterminer les interventions qui peuvent avoir un impact positif sur ces besoins. Enfin, il doit

définir les rôles qui sont les plus appropriés en tenant compte de ce que les Conseils de santé sont en mesure d’accomplir.

Le Conseil est composé de onze membres, dont cinq membres sont nommés au niveau provincial. Pour ce qui est des six autres membres, deux sont nommés par les comtés de Prescott-Russell, deux par les comtés de Stormont, Dundas et Glengarry et deux par la ville de Cornwall. Le Conseil de santé a un pouvoir décisionnel et il est responsable de l’approbation du budget.

Membres du Conseil de santé

NOTE: Toute correspondance doit être adressée à notre bureau de Cornwall.

Gerry Boyce

Gerry Boyce, Représentant des comtés unis de Stormont, Dundas et Glengarry

Gerry Boyce est résidant de North Dundas depuis 1964 où il est propriétaire d’une ferme de South Mountain. Il siège présentement au conseil municipal, pour un premier mandat de maire adjoint du canton de North Dundas. Gerry a été cadre dans une usine locale de transformation du lait pendant 20 ans. Il a aussi été propriétaire d’une entreprise d’eau embouteillée pendant 15 ans. Il occupe présentement un poste d’opérateur d’autocar à temps partiel chez McCoy Bus Lines & Tours.

Gerry est un bénévole dévoué dans sa communauté, siégeant sur bon nombre de conseils pour représenter le canton et les comtés. Il est un ancien président de la Mountain Township Agricultural Fair, du Winchester Lions Club, du Mountain Trailblazers Snowmobile Club, ainsi qu’il est présentement le directeur exécutif du Morrisburg & District Canadian Club. Gerry a également été pompier volontaire du service d’incendie du canton de Mountain pendant 30 ans, ayant été chef adjoint durant ses dernières années. Il est aussi membre du comité de reconstruction de l’église catholique St. Daniel à South Mountain. Gerry est l’époux de Lorna avec qui il a eu trois enfants : Emily, Grant et Jenna.

Gérard Bertrand

Gérard Bertrand, Vice-président, Représentant provincial

Gérard Bertrand est un ancien fonctionnaire fédéral qui a pris sa retraite après une longue carrière de trente-trois années. M. Bertrand a été préfet du canton de Cambridge, membre du Conseil des Comtés unis de Prescott et Russell, membre du Conseil régional de santé de Seaway et vice-président du conseil d'administration de la Société d'aide à l'enfance de Prescott-Russell.

Gary Barton

Gary Barton,
Représentant des comtés unis de Prescott-Russell
Maire de la municipalité Champlain

Gary Barton et son épouse Jean vivent à Vankleek Hill et ils ont quatre enfants. M. Barton est un enseignant à la retraite et l'ancien directeur de l'école secondaire Vankleek Hill Collegiate Institute. Depuis 1972, M. Barton est actif sur la scène politique municipale et, en 2003, et il été élu maire du canton de Champlain.

L'importance que M. Barton attache à la collectivité s'est traduite clairement, au cours des 40 dernières années, par une participation communautaire considérable, étant, entre autres, membre actif de la Société historique régionale de Vankleek Hill et membre du Conseil de santé.

Bernadette Clement

Bernadette Clément, Représentant de la ville de Cornwall

Bachelière en droit civil et Common Law, Bernadette Clément est diplômée de l’Université d’Ottawa. Depuis les 25 dernières années, Mme Clément est avocate à la Clinique juridique SDG où elle occupe également le poste de directrice adjointe. Mme Clément est membre du conseil d’administration de bon nombre d’agences communautaires. Elle a été élue au conseil municipal de la ville de Cornwall en 2006 et remplit actuellement son troisième mandat.

Bernadette Clement

Debora M. Daigle, Représentante provinciale

Debora est diplômée de l’Université Queen’s – d’abord en sciences sociales et ayant ensuite complété une maîtrise en administration publique. Elle a consacré sa carrière à œuvrer au sein des gouvernements provincial et municipal, administrant le logement social, les services sociaux et les services de garde d’enfant pour les résidents de Cornwall et des Comtés-Unis de Stormont, Dundas et Glengarry. Ayant récemment pris sa retraite, Debora demeure active en recherche et développement de politique en Ontario en offrant ses services de consultantes à diverses organisations sectorielles.

Debora a une grande expérience en administration au sein du secteur des soins de santé, ayant déjà siégé sur les conseils de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa et de l’Association des hôpitaux de l'Ontario. Elle sert présentement sur les conseils du Seaway Valley Community Health Centre et de l’Hôpital communautaire de Cornwall. Elle s’est récemment jointe au conseil d’administration de L’institut des sciences environnementales du fleuve St-Laurent.

Gilles Fournier

Gilles Fournier, Président, Représentant provincial

Gilles Fournier est né à Vankleek Hill, en Ontario, où il vit depuis plus de 50 ans. Au terme de ses études à l'école secondaire Vankleek Hill Collegiate Institute, Gilles a commencé à travailler au sein de l'entreprise familiale tout en poursuivant ses études à l'Université d'Ottawa d'où il est diplômé en administration des affaires. Au cours de ces années, Gilles a également obtenu un permis d'agent immobilier délivré par le Conseil ontarien de l'immobilier. En 2002, il acceptait le poste de directeur de l'exploitation auprès de DFL International, à Hawkesbury. En tant que membre actif de sa collectivité, il a siégé à divers conseils, a exercé les fonctions de conseiller scolaire auprès du CEPEO et a été bénévole au sein de ligues récréatives.

Syd Gardiner

Syd Gardiner, Représentante provinciale

Sydney Gardiner a été élu et a servi au Conseil municipal de la Ville de Cornwall pendant 11 années. Durant ce temps, M. Gardiner a siégé sur de nombreux conseils, y compris au Bureau de santé de l’est de l’Ontario, à la Gestion des situations d’urgence, au Bureau du tourisme, à l’Aéroport régional de Cornwall et à la Bibliothèque publique de Cornwall. Il a aussi été président et vice-président du Théâtre Aultsville pendant 14 années. À titre de conseiller municipal, M. Gardiner a joué un rôle instrumental dans l’adoption d’un règlement sur l’interdiction de fumée, faisant de la Ville de Cornwall la première petite ville en Ontario à favoriser un environnement sans fumée.

M. Gardiner a fait ses études secondaires au Gault Institute à Valleyfield (Québec). Il a poursuivi ses études au Collège Saint-Laurent de Cornwall (Ontario) où il a plus tard été invité à enseigner la vente au détail dans le cadre du programme de marketing.

Le relevé d’emploi de M. Gardiner fait état de son poste de gestionnaire des opérations au centre d’entreposage et de distribution des ventes de MCA Records Canada à Calgary (Alberta), servant l’ensemble de l’Ouest du Canada. Il a été embauché plus tard dans la même capacité, par la Capitol Records E.M.I. à Montréal, étant responsable des opérations pour tout l’Est du Canada. M. Gardiner a pris la retraite après avoir été employé pendant 28 ans à Sears Canada.

Parmi ses loisirs, M. Gardiner aime jouer au golf l’été et au curling l’hiver. Il est aussi passionné de la chanson et la guitare.

Mary Johnson

Mary Johnson, Représentante provinciale

Mary Johnson est originaire de la région de l'Est. Elle a entamé sa carrière comme infirmière autorisée et possède aujourd'hui plus de 30 ans d'expérience dans la prestation et la gestion des soins de santé. Mme Johnson a notamment occupé pendant huit ans et demi le poste de directrice des services infirmiers de santé publique au Fort McMurray, en Alberta. Elle s'est également acquittée des fonctions de directrice des soins et de vice-présidente des services cliniques pendant sept ans au Northern Lights Regional Health Centre. En qualité de chef du développement communautaire à la AWASAK Child and Family Services Authority, Mme Johnson a eu l'occasion de travailler en étroite collaboration avec de nombreux organismes partenaires afin que le premier centre de ressources familiales viable de l'Alberta voie le jour. Outre son expérience en soins infirmiers, Mme Johnson a été directrice adjointe des opérations d'urgence pour la Ville de Fort McMurray, en Alberta, et détient plusieurs certificats liés à la gestion des services de santé et aux interventions d.urgence.

Sur la scène locale, Mme Johnson a collaboré avec le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée afin de mettre sur pied, à Glengarry Sud, l'une des premières cliniques de la province dirigées par des infirmières praticiennes.

Dans son rôle de membre du Conseil de santé, Mme Johnson met à profit son habileté à amener les gens à tendre vers des objectifs communautaires communs afin de sensibiliser la population à la promotion de la santé et à la prévention ainsi qu'à la nécessité d'agir sur les déterminants sociaux de la santé. En tant qu.ancienne présidente du Conseil de santé, Mme Johnson a également représenté le Bureau de santé de l'est de l'Ontario au Conseil de santé provincial ainsi qu'à des comités provinciaux et au Réseau local d'intégration des services de santé (RLISS) de Champlain.

Robert Kirby

Robert Kirby, Représentant des comtés unis de Prescott-Russell
Maire de la municipalité Hawkesbury Est

La famille Kirby est établie à Chute-à-Blondeau depuis plus de 200 ans. Robert Kirby est né à Chute-à-Blondeau en 1947. M Kirby, son épouse Judy Barton et son fils habitent toujours la maison familiale.

Robert est cultivateur depuis toujours. En partenariat avec son frère John et son neveu J.D., et son fils Shane, il continue la tradition et s'active sur la ferme laitière familiale. Il est bilingue et est très actif dans sa communauté. En outre, il est un des responsables d'accueillir le Concours international de Labour 2011, un évènement majeur.

Pour une première fois en politique, Robert fut élu maire du Canton de Hawkesbury-Est en décembre 2003 et réélu par acclamation en 2006. Il siège au Conseil de santé du Bureau de santé de l.est Ontario depuis 2003. Il a occupé la fonction de président des Comtés Unis de Prescott- Russell pour l'année 2009.

Jim McDonnell

Ian McLeod, Représentant des Comtés unis de SDG
Maire, Canton de South Glengarry
Président, Comtés unis de SDG

M. McLeod et sa femme Janice vivent depuis 35 ans dans une région rurale à l’extérieur de North Lancaster, Ontario. Ils ont quatre filles, dont trois qui travaillent actuellement à Calgary et une qui étudie à l’Université Queen’s. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences en génie civil de l’Université Queen’s, M. McLeod porte aujourd’hui le titre d’ingénieur-conseil. Il est actuellement gestionnaire des services municipaux à Genivar, une firme d’ingénieurs à Cornwall. À ce titre, il a travaillé avec de nombreuses municipalités de l’est de l’Ontario et comprend donc les nombreux défis auxquels elles font face.

M. McLeod a été élu conseiller de South Glengarry en 1997 et est resté en poste jusqu’en 2010. Il a ensuite été élu adjoint au maire en 2010, puis est devenu maire de South Glengarry en 2011. Depuis 2012, il est aussi Président de SDG. Au cours des dernières années, M. McLeod a siégé à de nombreux conseils, souvent à titre de président. Il a hâte de siéger au Conseil de santé du BSEO.

André Rivette

André Rivette, Représentant de la ville de Cornwall
Conseiller, ville de Cornwall

André Rivette est originaire de Cornwall et possède plus de 25 années d'expérience dans l'exercice de fonctions de direction et d'encadrement, lui qui a été directeur de marina, surveillant de l'aménagement paysager, coordonnateur de projet, formateur en milieu de travail et directeur général par intérim. M. Rivette a également 15 ans d'expérience dans le domaine de la vente et est maintenant retraité du Journal où il était directeur des ventes.

M. Rivette a été élu pour une première fois au Conseil municipal de Cornwall en 1998 où il est demeuré pour un second mandat, puis a été réélu en 2006. En 2010, M. Rivette a été réélu au Conseil pour un quatrième mandat et siège, à l'heure actuelle, aux conseils de plusieurs organismes, notamment les suivants : le Bureau de santé de l'est de l'Ontario, la Commission des Services communautaires de la police de Cornwall, et le Comité des nominations. Il a en outre été membre du l’Office de protection de la nature de la région de Raisin, le comité de développement riverain de la Ville, la Société de logement de Cornwall et de la région, le comité d'examen complet du transport en commun de Cornwall et du Grant Research Team, et il a été président du conseil de direction du Glen Stor Dun Lodge.

Ses passe-temps sont la musique, le bénévolat auprès de divers organismes de sport et les cours axés sur la carrière.

M. Rivette est marié à Susan et, ensemble, ils ont deux enfants, Rodney et Tracey, ainsi qu'une petite-fille prénommée Alex.

Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario