Accessibility at EOHU



Statement of Commitment

The Eastern Ontario Health Unit (EOHU) is committed to ensuring equal access and participation for people with disabilities. We are committed to treating people with disabilities in a way that allows them to maintain their dignity and independence.

We believe in integration, and we are committed to meeting the needs of people with disabilities in a timely manner. We will do so by removing and preventing barriers to accessibility and by meeting our accessibility requirements under Ontario’s accessibility laws.


Meeting Accessibility Standards: AODA

The 2011 accessibility regulation requires the Eastern Ontario Health Unit (EOHU) to ensure alignment of its accessibility policies with Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) legislation in its multi-year accessibility plan. The following outlines key obligations of the EOHU on accessibility.

General Requirements

Establishment of Accessibility Plans and Policies

The EOHU shall produce a multi-year Accessibility Plan. The plan will be posted on the EOHU's website and made available in accessible formats upon request. The Accessibility Plan will be reviewed and updated at least once every five years.

The EOHU maintains policies on how it shall meet AODA requirement and will provide policies in an accessible format upon request.

Accessibility in Procurement

When procuring goods, services, self-service kiosks or facilities, the EOHU shall incorporate accessibility criteria and features, unless it is not feasible (practicable) to do so. If not practicable, the EOHU shall provide an explanation, upon request.

A kiosk means an interactive electronic terminal, including a point-of-sale device, intended for public use that allows users to access one or more services.

General Training Requirements

EOHU employees, volunteers, all those who participate in developing the EOHU's policies and those who provide goods, services or facilities on the EOHU's behalf shall be required to undergo training on the requirements of the AODA accessibility standards and on the Ontario Human Rights Code as it relates to people with disabilities.

Accessible Customer Service Standards

Assistive devices

EOHU employees, volunteers and third party contractors shall accommodate the use of personal assistive devices, which enable a person with a disability to access the EOHU's services, programs and facilities. Assistive devices include and are not limited to: GPS, mobility devices, personal oxygen tanks, mini pocket recorder and communication boards (e.g. a Bliss board).

Service animals

EOHU employees, volunteers and third party contractors shall accommodate the use of service animals by people with disabilities who are accessing EOHU services, programs and facilities unless the animal is otherwise excluded by law, such as food preparation areas as prohibited by Food Premises, R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 562 under the Health Protection and Promotion Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. H.7.

A guide dog is defined in Section One of the Blind Persons' Rights Act. To be considered a service animal under the Customer Service Standard, it must be readily apparent that the animal is being used because of a person's disability or the person with a disability must provide a letter from a physician or nurse confirming that it is required because of his or her disability.

Support persons

Where a person with a disability accessing EOHU services, programs or facilities is accompanied by a support person, EOHU employees, volunteers and third party contractors shall ensure that both persons are permitted to enter the premises together and shall ensure that the person with a disability can access the support person while on the premises.

A support person is a person who accompanies the person with a disability in order to help with communication, mobility, personal care or medical needs or with access to goods or services. The support person can be a paid support worker, volunteer, a friend or a family member.

Communication

When communicating with a person with a disability, EOHU employees, volunteers and third party contractors shall do so in a manner that respects the person's disability.

Notice of service disruption

If there is a temporary disruption in the availability of services, programs and facilities used by persons with disabilities (e.g., temporary loss of elevator service), the EOHU shall notify the public of the reason for the disruption, the date(s) of disruption, its anticipated duration and a description of alternative facilities or services, if any, that are available. Such notice may be provided by a variety of methods, depending on the circumstances, and may include postings in conspicuous places at the affected premises, other EOHU facilities, and the EOHU's website, as well as by other means that will ensure that the notice reaches those persons potentially affected by the temporary disruption.

Training - Contractors, Consultants and Service Providers

The EOHU shall ensure that EOHU employees and volunteers who deal with the public on behalf of the EOHU, and those who are involved in EOHU policy and program development receive training on accessible customer service.

Third party contractors who deliver goods and services on behalf of the EOHU are also required to ensure that they meet the legislative requirements of accessible customer service.

Training includes information on the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005, S.O. 2005, c. 11 and the requirements of the Accessibility Standards for Customer Service, O. Reg. 429/07.

Training records are maintained, including dates when training is provided and the number of employees who received training.

Customer Service training is part of orientation. The training is provided through a mandatory online module.

Feedback

The EOHU shall ensure that every area that interacts directly with the public develops and publishes a process for receiving and responding to feedback about how services and programs are delivered to people with disabilities.

Public feedback may be provided in person, by telephone, in writing or by electronic means. Feedback received by the EOHU shall be responded to, documented and tracked.

Documentation

The documents required of the Standards shall be maintained on the EOHU's website or provided to individuals, upon request, in the appropriate format.

Responsibilities

The EOHU Manager, CQI is responsible for reviewing this Statement and accessibility requirements annually and recommending amendments to ensure ongoing compliance with regulated accessibility standards and legislated obligations.

The EOHU Manager, CQI shall provide advice and direction on the implementation of this Statement.

Information and Communication Standards

Feedback

The EOHU is to ensure that any process for receiving and responding to feedback is accessible to persons with disabilities by providing or arranging for the provision of accessible formats and communication supports. The public shall be notified about the availability of accessible formats and communication supports.

Accessible formats and communication supports

The EOHU will provide or arrange for the provision of accessible formats and communication supports for persons with disabilities, upon request. Accessible formats and communication supports shall be provided in a timely manner, taking into account, the person's accessibility needs to determine the suitability of an accessible format or communication support. The public shall be notified about the availability of accessible formats and communication supports.

Accessible formats may include but are not limited to, large print, recorded audio and electronic formats, Braille and other formats used by persons with disabilities.

Emergency procedures, plans or safety information

The EOHU shall provide public emergency procedures, plans and public safety information to the public upon request, in an accessible format with appropriate communication supports in a timely manner.

Accessible websites and web content

Internet websites and web content controlled directly by the EOHU or through a contractual relationship that allows for modification of the product, shall conform with World Wide Web Consortium Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 Level A initially and Level AA in accordance with the schedule set out in the AODA Integrated Accessibility Standards.

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) is an international standard for making websites and web content accessible through a series of technical checkpoints (Level A and Level AA) so that websites and content are increasingly accessible to a broader range of users with disabilities. Web accessibility involves understanding a broad spectrum of disabilities, including visual, auditory, physical, cognitive, speech, learning, language, and neurological disabilities.

Employment Standards

Recruitment

The EOHU shall post information about the availability of accommodation for applicants with disabilities in its recruitment process. Job applicants who are selected for an assessment/interview shall be notified that accommodations are available for materials/processes used in selection, upon request. Successful applicants shall be notified about the EOHU's policies for accommodating employees with disabilities.

Employee Supports

The EOHU shall inform employees of policies used to support employees with disabilities, including policies on the provision of job accommodations that take into account an employee's accessibility needs due to a disability. The EOHU shall provide this information to new employees as soon as practicable after they begin their employment and provide updated information to employees whenever there is a change to existing policies on the provision of job accommodations.

Accessible formats and communication supports for employees

Upon the request of an employee with a disability, the EOHU shall consult with the employee to provide/arrange for the provision of accessible formats and communication supports for:

  1. information needed to perform the employee's job; and,
  2. for information that is generally available to employees in the workplace.

The EOHU will consult with the employee making the request in determining the suitability of an accessible format or communication support.

Workplace Emergency Response Information

If an employee's disability is such that the individualized workplace emergency response information is necessary and the EOHU is aware of the need for accommodation, this information shall be provided to employees. In addition, this information shall be provided, with the person's consent, to the person designated to provide assistance. The information shall be reviewed when the employee moves to a different location, when the employee's overall accommodation needs or plans are reviewed and when the EOHU reviews its general emergency response plan.

Documented individual accommodation plans

A written process for the development and maintenance of documented individual accommodation plans shall be developed for employees with disabilities. If requested, the plans shall include individualized workplace emergency response information. Elements for the individual accommodation plans are set out in the AODA Integrated Accessibility Standards.

Return to work process

The EOHU shall have in place a documented return to work process for employees who are returning to work due to a disability and require disability-related accommodations. The return to work process shall outline the steps that the EOHU shall take to facilitate the return to work.

Performance Management and Career development and Redeployment

The EOHU shall take into account the accessibility needs of employees with disabilities as well as any individual accommodation plans when providing career development, performance management and when considering redeployment.

Design of Public Spaces Standards

Public spaces that are newly constructed or redeveloped by the EOHU shall meet the accessibility requirements set out in the AODA Design of Public Spaces Standards, including the following areas:

  • Exterior paths of Travel
  • Accessible Parking
  • Service counters, queuing guides and waiting areas

In addition to incorporating accessible design requirements in new or renovated public spaces, the EOHU Multi-Year Accessibility Plan (2012 – 2021) will document procedures for maintenance of the accessible elements, and for dealing with temporary disruptions of accessible elements.


Feedback

We welcome comments on the provision of programs or services to people with disabilities. Comments can be directed to the Manager, Continuous Quality Improvement by telephone, email, in person or in writing:

  • Email: info@eohu.ca
  • Telephone: 613-933-1375, ext. 218
  • In person, or in writing:
    Eastern Ontario Health Unit
    1000 Pitt Street
    Cornwall, ON K6J 5T1

If you are a person with a disability, or if you provide support to a person with a disability, please:

  • Let us know how we can help. We are open to discussing your ideas on the service options available.
  • Help our staff understand your needs.

Request for Accessible Format or Communication Support

The Eastern Ontario Health Unit is committed to providing information in a format that meets your needs. If you need information in an alternate format or with the assistance of a communication support, please complete the Request for Accessible Format or Communication Support form.

The form can be submitted in person, by email at accessibility@eohu.ca, by fax at 613-933-7930 or by mail at 1000 Pitt Street, Cornwall, Ontario, K6J 5T1. Alternatively, you can make your request by phone at 1-800-267-7120.


Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario

Accessibilité au BSEO



Déclaration d’engagement

Le Bureau de santé de l’est de l’Ontario (BSEO) s’engage à assurer un accès et une participation égale aux personnes handicapées. Nous sommes déterminés à traiter les personnes handicapées de manière à ce qu’elles puissent garder leur dignité et leur autonomie.

Nous croyons en l’intégration et nous nous engageons à répondre aux besoins des personnes handicapées en temps opportun. Pour ce faire, nous éliminerons et préviendrons les obstacles à l’accessibilité, ainsi que nous satisferons les exigences afférentes en vertu de la législation sur l’accessibilité en Ontario.


Satisfaire aux normes sur l’accessibilité : la LAPHO

La réglementation de 2011 sur l’accessibilité exige que le Bureau de santé de l’est de l’Ontario (BSEO) aligne ses politiques en la matière sur la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO) et qu’il les inclut dans un plan d’accessibilité pluriannuel. Les principales obligations en matière d’accessibilité sont décrites ci-dessous.

Exigences générales

Élaboration de plans et de politiques sur l’accessibilité

Le BSEO préparera un plan sur l’accessibilité pluriannuel qui sera affiché sur son site Web et disponible sous divers formats accessibles selon la demande. Le plan sur l’accessibilité sera révisé et actualisé au moins une fois tous les cinq ans.

Le BSEO dispose de politiques sur les moyens qui seront pris pour satisfaire aux exigences de la LAPHO et fournira sur demande ses politiques dans un format accessible.

Accessibilité dans son approvisionnement

Lors de ses approvisionnements de biens et de services, de kiosques libre-service ou d’installations, le BSEO doit incorporer des critères et des caractéristiques sur l’accessibilité, à moins que ce ne soit pas possible (pratique) de le faire. Dans ce cas, le BSEO devra fournir une explication sur demande.

Un kiosque signifie un terminal électronique interactif, incluant un appareil de point-de-vente à usage public qui permet aux utilisateurs d’avoir accès à des services singuliers ou multiples.

Exigences de formation générale

Les employés du BSEO, ses bénévoles et toutes les personnes qui participent à l’élaboration de ses politiques ainsi que tous les agents qui fournissent des biens, des services ou des installations au nom du BSEO sont tenus de suivre une formation sur les exigences en matière des normes d’accessibilité en vertu de la LAPHO et sur la section du Code des droits de la personne qui traite des personnes handicapées.

Norme d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle

Appareils fonctionnels

Les employés du BSEO, ses bénévoles et les entrepreneurs tiers accommoderont l’usage d’appareils fonctionnels qui permettent à une personne handicapée d’accéder aux services, programmes et installations du BSEO. Les appareils fonctionnels comprennent, sans toutefois s’y limiter, le GPS, les aides à la mobilité, les bouteilles d’oxygène personnelles, les mini-enregistreuses et les tableaux de communication (ex. le tableau Bliss).

Animaux aidants

Les employés du BSEO, ses bénévoles et les entrepreneurs tiers doivent accommoder les personnes handicapées qui ont recours aux animaux aidants lors de leur accès aux services, programmes et installations du BSEO à moins que l’animal ne soit exclu par la loi, comme par exemple dans les aires de préparation de nourriture, tel qu’interdit par le Règlement 562 sur les établissements de service alimentaire, R.R.O. 1990, pris en vertu de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé, S.R.O. 1990, Chap. H.7.

Un chien d’aveugles est défini au Chapitre 1 de la Loi sur les droits des aveugles. Pour qu’il soit considéré un animal aidant en vertu de la Norme d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle, il doit être facilement apparent que l’animal est utilisé en raison de l’invalidité d’une personne sinon celle-ci doit présenter une lettre de médecin ou d’infirmier confirmant que l’animal est nécessaire en raison de son invalidité.

Personnes de soutien

Lorsqu’une personne handicapée accompagnée par une personne de soutien reçoit des services ou des programmes, ou se présente dans les installations du BSEO, les employés du BSEO, ses bénévoles et les entrepreneurs tiers doivent s’assurer que les deux personnes sont admises ensemble dans l’établissement et doivent s’assurer que la personne handicapée ait accès à la personne de soutien pendant sa visite dans l’établissement.

Une personne de soutien signifie quelqu’un qui accompagne la personne handicapée pour faciliter la communication, la mobilité, les soins personnels ou les besoins médicaux ou l’accès aux biens et services. La personne de soutien peut être un préposé au soutien rémunéré, un bénévole, un ami ou un membre de la famille.

Communication

Les employés du BSEO, ses bénévoles et les entrepreneurs tiers qui communiquent avec une personne handicapée doivent employer une conduite respectueuse de son handicap.

Avis d’interruption de service

Advenant une interruption temporaire des services, programmes ou installations disponibles aux personnes handicapées (ex. panne temporaire du service d’ascenseur), le BSEO doit aviser le public de la raison de cette interruption, la date de l’interruption, sa durée prévue et la description des autres installations ou services qui sont disponibles, le cas échéant. Un tel avis peut être diffusé par différents moyens, selon les circonstances, et peut inclure un affichage à des endroits bien visibles dans les installations touchées, dans les autres installations du BSEO, sur son site Web ainsi que par d’autres moyens qui assureront que l’avis rejoigne les personnes qui peuvent être potentiellement touchées par l’interruption de service.

Formation – Entrepreneurs, conseillers et fournisseurs de service

Le BSEO doit s’assurer que ses employés et ses bénévoles qui ont des échanges avec le public au nom du BSEO, ainsi que toutes personnes qui participent à l’élaboration de ses politiques et programmes, reçoivent une formation sur un service à la clientèle accessible.

Les entrepreneurs tiers qui livrent des biens et des services au nom du BSEO doivent aussi s’assurer de répondre aux exigences législatives du service à la clientèle accessible.

La formation inclut des renseignements sur la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO), L.O. 2005, Chap. 11 et les exigences de la Norme d'accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle, Règl. de l'Ont 429/07.

Des dossiers sont maintenus sur la formation, incluant la date de la prestation et le nombre d’employés qui ont suivi la formation.

La formation sur les services à la clientèle fait partie de l’orientation. Cette formation est dispensée au moyen d’un module en ligne obligatoire.

Rétroaction

Le BSEO doit s’assurer que le personnel de chaque champ d’expertise qui ont des interactions directes avec le public développe et publie un processus de réception et de réponse à la rétroaction sur leur façon de livrer leurs services et programmes aux personnes handicapées.

La rétroaction du public peut être transmise en personne, par téléphone, par écrit ou par moyen électronique. La rétroaction reçue par le BSEO doit être documentée, ainsi qu’il faut y répondre et y assurer un suivi.

Documentation

Les documents requis en vertu des normes sont conservés sur le site Web du BSEO ou fournis aux individus sur demande dans le format approprié.

Responsabilités

Le gestionnaire de l’amélioration continue de la qualité du BSEO, est responsable de réviser l’énoncé et les exigences d’accessibilité de l’organisme chaque année, et de recommander les modifications requises pour assurer sa conformité continue aux normes d’accessibilité réglementées et ses obligations légales.

Le gestionnaire de l’amélioration continue de la qualité du BSEO doit pouvoir offrir des conseils et des directives sur la mise en œuvre du présent énoncé.

Normes d’information et de communication

Rétroaction

Le BSEO doit assurer que tout processus de réception et de réponse à la rétroaction est accessible aux personnes handicapées en leur fournissant ou en organisant la disponibilité de formats accessibles et de supports de communication. Le public doit être avisé des formats accessibles et des supports de communication disponibles.

Formats accessibles et supports de communication

Le BSEO offrira ou prendra les mesures nécessaires pour offrir sur demande des formats accessibles et des supports de communication aux personnes handicapées. Les formats accessibles et les supports de communication seront fournis en temps opportun, tenant compte des besoins de la personne en matière d’accessibilité pour déterminer la pertinence du format accessible ou du support de communication. Le public doit être avisé des formats accessibles et des supports de communication disponibles.

Les formats accessibles peuvent inclure sans toutefois s’y limiter, les gros caractères, l’enregistrement de bandes audio et les formats électroniques, le braille et les autres formats qu’utilisent les personnes handicapées.

Procédures et plans d’urgence et renseignements sur la sécurité

Le BSEO doit fournir des procédures, des plans et des renseignements publics sur la sécurité au grand public sur demande, dans un format accessible comportant les supports de communication appropriés en temps opportuns.

Sites et contenu Web accessibles

Les sites Internet et le contenu Web qui sont directement sous le contrôle du BSEO ou qui sont gérés par une relation contractuelle permettant la modification du produit, doivent se conformer aux règles pour l’accessibilité des contenus, notamment aux World Wide Web Consortium Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0, niveau A au début, et au niveau AA conformément au calendrier établi dans les normes d’accessibilité intégrées dans la LAPHO.

Les règles pour l’accessibilité des contenus (WCAG) sont une norme internationale qui permettent d’assurer que les sites et les contenus Web sont accessibles grâce à une série d’indicateurs techniques (niveau A et niveau AA) pour rendre accessible les sites et les contenus Web à un nombre croissant d’usagers ayant des handicaps. L’accessibilité Web comporte la connaissance approfondie d’un large éventail de handicaps, y compris les handicaps visuels, auditifs, physiques, cognitifs, langagiers, d’apprentissage et de la parole et neurologiques.

Normes d’emploi

Recrutement

Dans son processus de recrutement, le BSEO affichera des renseignements concernant la disponibilité d’accommodements à l’intention des personnes handicapées qui postulent les offres d’emploi. Les postulants qui sont choisis pour une évaluation ou une entrevue initiale seront informés sur demande, de la disponibilité d’accommodements par rapport aux matériels ou processus utilisés dans la sélection. Le candidat choisi sera avisé des politiques du BSEO sur l’accommodement des employés qui ont des handicaps.

Supports aux employés

Le BSEO informera ses employés des politiques utilisées pour soutenir les employés handicapés, incluant les politiques sur la prestation des accommodements en cours d’emploi qui tiennent compte des besoins d’accessibilité de l’employé en raison d’une invalidité. Le BSEO doit fournir ces renseignements aux nouveaux employés dès que c’est pratiquement possible à la suite de leur entrée en fonction et de fournir des renseignements à jour aux employés dès que des changements sont apportés aux politiques existantes sur la prestation des accommodements au travail.

Formats accessibles et supports de communication pour les employés

Sur la demande d’un membre du personnel handicapé, le BSEO consultera l’employé pour lui offrir ou prendre les mesures nécessaires pour lui offrir sous formats accessibles ou à l’aide de supports de communication :

  1. l’information requise pour exécuter les fonctions de son poste
  2. l’information qui est généralement disponible aux employés dans le milieu de travail.

Le BSEO consultera l’employé/e qui fait la demande pour déterminer la validité ou la pertinence d’un format accessible ou d’un support de communication.

Renseignements pour l’intervention d’urgence sur le lieu de travail

Si l’handicap de l’employé/e est tel que des renseignements pour l’intervention d’urgence sur le lieu de travail sont nécessaires et que le BSEO est au courant du besoin d’accommodement, ces renseignements seront mis à la disposition du personnel. De plus, avec le consentement de l’employé/e, ces renseignements seront fournis à la personne désignée pour lui fournir de l’aide. Ces renseignements doivent être révisés lorsque l’employé/e est réinstallé dans un lieu différent, lorsque ses besoins ou plans d’accommodement sont révisés ou que le BSEO révise son plan d’intervention d’urgence général.

Plans d’accommodement personnalisé documentés

Un processus écrit visant l’élaboration et l’actualisation de plans d’accommodement personnalisé documentés sera développé à l’intention des employés handicapés. Sur demande, les plans devront comprendre des renseignements concernant l’intervention d’urgence personnalisée. Les éléments des plans d’accommodement personnalisé sont établis dans les normes d’accessibilité intégrées dans la LAPHO.

Processus de retour au travail

Le BSEO élaborera un processus documenté de retour au travail pour les employés qui réintègrent leur poste à la suite d’une invalidité et qui exigent des accommodements reliés à leur invalidité. Le processus de retour au travail doit décrire les mesures que le BSEO prendra pour faciliter le retour au travail.

Gestion du rendement, développement de carrière et réaffectation

Le BSEO doit tenir compte des besoins d’accessibilité des employés atteints d’une invalidité ainsi que des plans d’accommodement personnalisés lorsqu’il offre le développement de carrière, la gestion du rendement ou qu’il considère une réaffectation.

Conception des normes relatives aux espaces publics

Les espaces publics nouvellement aménagés ou réaménagés par le BSEO doivent répondre aux exigences d’accessibilité établies dans les exigences relatives aux normes pour la conception des espaces publics de la LAPHO, y compris les endroits suivants :

  • Voies de déplacement extérieures
  • Stationnement accessible
  • Comptoirs de service, guides de file d’attente fixes et aires d’attente

En plus d’incorporer les exigences concernant la conception d’accessibilité dans les espaces publics nouveaux ou rénovés, le Plan d’accessibilité pluriannuel du BSEO (2012 – 2021) documentera les procédures de maintenance des éléments accessibles et celles qui couvrent les interruptions temporaires des éléments accessibles.


Rétroaction

Nous apprécions vos commentaires sur la prestation de nos programmes et services aux personnes handicapées. Veuillez nous les transmettre par téléphone, par courriel, en personne ou par écrit, aux soins de la Gestionnaire, amélioration continue de la qualité :

  • Courriel :info@eohu.ca
  • Téléphone : 613-933-1375, poste 218
  • En personne ou par écrit :
    Bureau de santé de l’est de l’Ontario
    1000 rue Pitt
    Cornwall, Ontario K6J 5T1

Si vous avez un handicap ou si vous prenez soin d’une personne handicapée :

  • Veuillez nous indiquer de quelle façon nous pouvons vous aider. Nous nous ferons un plaisir d’écouter vos idées sur les services offerts ou à offrir.
  • Veuillez aider notre personnel à comprendre vos besoins.

Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario