Travel Health

If you’re planning a trip, you want it to be as safe, enjoyable and worry-free as possible. But infectious diseases are common in many countries. Illness can ruin a vacation and keep you confined to your room for the entire trip. In other cases, symptoms may only appear some time after you return from your trip. Some diseases have serious long-term effects or can be fatal.

Your risk of exposure to disease depends on your travel location, the type of travel you’re doing, the season, the duration of exposure and the recreational activities you do during your trip. Contaminated food and water are also common sources of infection. Insects can be another mode of transmission.

Immunization is the most important protection you can receive before taking a trip. Even though you may already be immunized against certain childhood diseases, some additional immunizations or medications may be needed when travelling to certain countries. You can help prevent serious travel-related illness by making sure that your immunization record is up-to-date, and by getting any additional vaccines that are recommended for the area you are planning to visit. Note: Most vaccines should be given at least 10 to 14 days before departure.

Visit the sites below for up-to-date information on recommended travel vaccines and medication, as well as health and safety tips for the area to which you are travelling.

www.travel.gc.ca – travel advice, health information and advisories for specific destinations

www.cdc.gov/travel – travel advice, health information and advisories for specific destinations

www.vaccines411.ca – directory of clinics/pharmacies that provide travel vaccines

Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario

Santé des voyageurs

Si vous planifiez un voyage, vous désirez sans doute qu’il soit le plus sécuritaire, agréable et sans souci possible. Mais les maladies infectieuses sont encore fréquentes dans bien des pays. Parfois, la maladie peut ruiner vos vacances et vous confiner à votre chambre pendant la durée du voyage. Dans d’autres cas, les symptômes peuvent n’apparaître qu’à la suite de votre retour de voyage. Certaines maladies ont des effets à longs termes graves qui peuvent même causer la mort.

Votre risque d’exposition à la maladie dépend de votre destination et du type de voyage que vous comptez faire, de la saison de voyage, de la durée d’exposition aux agents infectieux, et des loisirs auxquels vous participerez pendant votre voyage. L’eau et les aliments contaminés sont souvent des sources d’infection. Les insectes sont parfois un autre mode de transmission.

L’immunisation est la mesure de protection la plus importante à prendre avant de partir en voyage. Même si vous êtes déjà immunisés contre certaines maladies infantiles, des immunisations et des médicaments supplémentaires peuvent être recommandés lors de voyages dans certains pays. Avant votre départ, vous pouvez vous protéger contre les maladies infectieuses en vous assurant que votre carnet d’immunisation est à jour et que vous avez reçu toutes les immunisations recommandées pour la région que vous désirez visiter. À noter : La plupart des vaccins devraient être donnés 10 à 14 jours avant le départ.

Consultez les sites ci-dessous pour les plus récents renseignements sur les vaccins et médicaments recommandés aux voyageurs, ainsi que les conseils de santé et de sécurité pour la région dans laquelle vous voyagez.

www.voyage.gc.ca – conseils aux voyageurs, information pour la santé et avertissements concernant certaines destinations spécifiques

www.cdc.gov/travel – conseils aux voyageurs, information pour la santé et avertissements concernant certaines destinations spécifiques

www.vaccines411.ca/fr/ – répertoire des cliniques et pharmacies qui offrent les immunisations aux voyageurs

Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario