Accessing legal cannabis

In Ontario, individuals aged 19 and over can purchase cannabis online through the Ontario Cannabis Store (OCS). The OCS online channel includes a verification system that ensures safe home delivery for cannabis products. A wholesale distribution network to supply cannabis to legal private stores in Ontario will be established once legislative requirements are put in place. The private retail model for cannabis is slated to take effect on April 1st, 2019.

It is unknown at this time whether municipalities within the Eastern Ontario Health Unit region will choose to opt-out of permitting physical cannabis retail stores within their boundaries. The provincial government will support municipalities to help keep communities safe.

Ontario plans to introduce an Official Ontario Cannabis Retailer Seal that will help consumers identify legitimate retailers where federally quality-assured products can be found. The federal government has set regulations on packaging and labelling information and restricted advertising. Retailers will have to ensure that products are not visible to children, and that all sales be made over the counter.

Medicinal cannabis is available through a federally licensed producer online or over the phone. Learn more about accessing cannabis for medicinal purposes.

For more information about the legalization of non-medicinal cannabis in Ontario, visit www.ontario.ca/cannabis.

Youth access

Anybody who shares, sells, gives, or otherwise supplies cannabis to anybody under the age of 19 may be liable to a fine or imprisonment, or both.

A young person of less than 19 years old who possesses cannabis may be liable to a fine or participation in a diversion program, or both.

Possession of cannabis

In Ontario, people aged 19 and over can possess up to 30 grams (about one ounce) of non-medicinal cannabis in public at any time. Anyone carrying more than 30 grams could be subject to a ticket. It’s also possible that the cannabis over the limit could be seized.

In Canada, possession for medicinal purposes is limited to the lesser of a 30-day supply or 150 grams of dried cannabis or the equivalent amount if in another form.

Places of use

The government of Ontario has introduced legislation about where individuals can consume cannabis in public. Please click here for details or visit www.ontario.ca/cannabis.

Landlords and condominium boards can prohibit both the cultivation and smoking of cannabis in residential units. Under our human rights legislation, some accommodation should be made for disabled individuals who consume cannabis in their units for medical reasons.

Personal cultivation (growing cannabis)

In Ontario, people 19 and over can grow up to four plants per residence (not per person) for non-medicinal purposes. Legal seeds and seedlings are available for purchase from the Ontario Cannabis Store.

You can receive a licence from Health Canada to grow medicinal cannabis on your own, or designate someone else to grow it on your behalf.

Driving

In Canada, operating a motor vehicle while impaired is a criminal offence. Canadian legislation authorizes law enforcement officers, following a legal roadside stop, to demand that a driver provide an oral fluid sample if they reasonably suspect a driver has drugs in their body. Learn more about Oral Fluid Screening Devices.

Oral fluid tests can be used to enforce Ontario’s zero tolerance requirements, prohibiting any driver of a motor vehicle from having any cannabis in their system if:

  • they are 21 or under
  • they have a G1, G2, M1 or M2 licence
  • the vehicle they are driving requires an A-F driver’s licence or Commercial Vehicle Operator’s Registration (CVOR)
  • they are driving a road-building machine

If you have legal authorization to use cannabis for medicinal purposes, you will not be subject to Ontario’s zero tolerance drug requirements for young, novice and commercial drivers. However, you can still face penalties and/or criminal charges if a police officer determines that your ability to drive has been impaired.

It’s also important to know that any medicinal or non-medicinal cannabis within your vehicle must be fastened closed and not otherwise readily available to any person in the vehicle. All methods of cannabis consumption (e.g. smoking, vaping, ingesting) in a vehicle or boat that is being driven or under a person’s care or control are prohibited (subject to exemptions that may be prescribed by regulation).

Territorial differences

Provinces and territories have the ability to set rules and added restrictions. Ontario has set the minimum age to 19. Other provinces, like our close neighbours in Quebec, have a minimum age of 18.

When you’re travelling within Canada, it’s your responsibility to know the laws of the province or territory you are going to. For example, if an 18-year-old crosses into Ontario from Quebec with cannabis, they may be subject to a fine because, in Ontario, you need to be at least 19 years old to possess cannabis.

The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne (MCA) has passed the Akwesasne Interim Cannabis Regulation. Regulations apply to any person in MCA’s jurisdiction whether they are a member of the Mohawks of Akwesasne or not. The regulations include rules for possessing cannabis, growing, selling or distributing cannabis, as well as guidance on the enforcement of the regulation.

Cannabis and international travel

It is illegal now and will remain illegal to transport cannabis across Canada's international borders, even if you’re authorized to use cannabis for medicinal purposes. In most countries, cannabis is illegal. However, even if you’re travelling to or from places that have legalized or decriminalized cannabis, it is still illegal to take cannabis across the border.

For example, if you’re travelling to the United States, it doesn’t matter if the state you are travelling to has legalized or decriminalized cannabis – it is against the law to bring it across the border into the United States. This is also true if you are returning to Canada with cannabis in your possession – it is against the law to bring it across the border into Canada.

Bringing cannabis across the border can result in serious criminal penalties, including arrest and prosecution. In the United States and other countries, it could also result in your being denied future entry into the country.

Cannabis and the border – Don’t travel with it

L’accès au cannabis légal

En Ontario, les personnes âgées de 19 ans et plus peuvent acheter du cannabis en ligne en passant par la Société ontarienne du cannabis (SOC). Le canal en ligne de la SOC comprend un système de vérification pour assurer la livraison à domicile des produits du cannabis en toute sécurité. Un réseau de distribution en gros pour approvisionner en cannabis les magasins privés légaux de l’Ontario sera établi dès que les exigences législatives seront mises en place. Il est prévu que le modèle de vente de détail du cannabis au privé entre en vigueur le 1er avril 2019.

On ne sait pas pour le moment si des municipalités dans la région du Bureau de santé de l’est de l’Ontario décideront de ne pas permettre l’ouverture de magasins de cannabis physiques dans leur secteur. Le gouvernement provincial soutiendra les municipalités afin d’assurer la sécurité de leurs communautés.

L’Ontario planifie de créer un sceau officiel à l'intention des détaillants de cannabis de l'Ontario qui aidera les consommateurs à identifier les détaillants légitimes proposant des produits de qualité répondant aux exigences fédérales. Le gouvernement fédéral a établi des règlements concernant les emballages et l’étiquetage du cannabis et sur les restrictions visant la publicité. Les détaillants devront s’assurer que les produits ne sont pas à la vue des enfants et que toutes les ventes sont faites au comptoir.

Le cannabis médical est dispensé par les producteurs autorisés au fédéral par commandes en ligne ou par téléphone. Pour en savoir plus sur l'accès au cannabis médical.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la légalisation du cannabis en Ontario, visitez www.ontario.ca/fr/page/legalisation-du-cannabis.

Accès des jeunes

Toute personne qui partage, vend, donne ou fournit de toute autre manière, du cannabis à quelqu’un de moins de 19 ans est passible d’une amende ou d’une peine de prison ou des deux.

Un jeune de moins de 19 ans qui possède du cannabis est passible d’une amende ou de participer à un programme de déjudiciarisation, ou des deux.

Possession de cannabis

En Ontario, les personnes de 19 ans et plus peuvent avoir en leur possession jusqu’à 30 grammes (à peu près une once) de cannabis non médical à tout moment en public. Toute personne ayant sur lui ou elle plus de 30 grammes pourrait recevoir une amende. Il est aussi possible que la quantité de cannabis en sus de la limite soit saisie.

Au Canada, la possession de cannabis consommé à des fins médicales est restreinte à moins que la quantité d’un approvisionnement de 30 jours ou moins de 150 grammes de cannabis séché ou à une quantité équivalente sous une autre forme.

Où consommer

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a adopté une loi sur les endroits où les gens peuvent consommer le cannabis en public. Veuillez cliquer ici pour en savoir plus ou visiter www.ontario.ca/fr/page/legalisation-du-cannabis.

Les propriétaires et les conseils de condominiums peuvent interdire à la fois de cultiver et de fumer du cannabis dans les unités résidentielles. En vertu de nos lois entourant les droits de la personne, certains accommodements devraient être prévus pour les personnes handicapées qui consomment le cannabis dans leur unité pour des raisons médicales.

Culture pour usage personnel (faire pousser le cannabis)

En Ontario, les personnes âgées de 19 ans et plus peuvent cultiver jusqu’à quatre plants par résidence (non pas par personne) à des fins non médicales. Les graines et les jeunes plants légaux sont mis en vente par la Société ontarienne du cannabis.

Vous pouvez obtenir un permis de Santé Canada pour cultiver le cannabis médical vous-même ou désigner quelqu’un qui le cultive pour vous.

Prendre le volant

Au Canada, la conduite d’un véhicule motorisé avec les facultés affaiblies est un crime. La législation canadienne autorise les agents de police, à la suite d’un arrêt légal au bord de la route, à demander à un conducteur de fournir un échantillon de fluide oral s’ils ont des soupçons raisonnables que le conducteur est sous l’effet de la drogue. Pour en savoir plus sur les appareils de dépistage de drogue par voie orale.

Les tests de fluide oral sont utilisés pour appliquer les exigences de la politique de tolérance zéro de l’Ontario qui interdit à tout conducteur d’un véhicule motorisé d’avoir consommé du cannabis si :

  • Il ou elle est âgée de 21 ans ou moins
  • Il ou elle possède un permis de catégorie G1, G2, M1 ou M2
  • Le véhicule qu’il ou elle conduit exige un permis de conduire de classe A-F ou une Immatriculation d'utilisateur de véhicule utilitaire (IUVU)
  • Il ou elle conduit une machine à construire des routes

Si vous êtes autorisé légalement à consommer du cannabis médical, vous ne serez pas assujetti aux exigences en vertu de la politique de tolérance zéro de l’Ontario applicables aux jeunes, aux nouveaux conducteurs et aux chauffeurs commerciaux. Cependant, vous pouvez quand même faire face à des pénalités et des accusations criminelles si un policier détermine que votre capacité de conduire est affaiblie.

Il est aussi important de savoir que le cannabis, médical ou non, dans votre voiture doit être fermé d’une façon quelconque et placé loin de la portée de toute personne qui se trouve dans le véhicule. Tous les moyens de consommer le cannabis (ex. fumer, vapoter, ingérer) dans un véhicule ou un bateau dont quelqu’un a pris le volant ou est responsable, sont interdits (ceci peut toutefois faire l’objet d’exemptions prescrites par règlement).

Différences territoriales

Les provinces et territoires ont le pouvoir d’établir les règles et d’ajouter des restrictions supplémentaires. L’Ontario a établi l’âge minimal à 19 ans tandis que d’autres provinces, comme le Québec, nos voisins proches, ont un âge minimal fixé à 18 ans.

Lorsque vous voyagez au Canada, vous êtes responsable de connaître les lois de la province ou du territoire où vous séjournerez. Par exemple, si un jeune de 18 ans du Québec traverse la frontière en Ontario ayant sur lui du cannabis, il ou elle pourrait être passible d’une amende parce qu’en Ontario, vous devez avoir au moins 19 ans pour posséder du cannabis.

The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne (MCA) a adopté l’Akwesasne Interim Cannabis Regulation. Les stipulations de ce règlement visent toutes les personnes qui se trouvent sur le territoire du MCA qu’elles soient ou non membres des Mohawks d’Akwesasne. Le Règlement inclut des règles spécifiques à la possession, la culture, la vente ou la distribution du cannabis, ainsi que des renseignements concernant son application.

Le cannabis et les voyages internationaux

Il est illégal et sera toujours illégal de transporter du cannabis à l'extérieur des frontières internationales du Canada, même si vous êtes autorisé à consommer le cannabis à des fins médicales. Dans la plupart des pays, le cannabis est illégal. Même si vous voyagez en direction ou en provenance d'une région où le cannabis est légalisé ou décriminalisé, il est illégal de le transporter au-delà de la frontière.

Par exemple, si vous allez aux États-Unis, peu importe si l’état dans lequel vous vous rendez, a légalisé ou décriminalisé le cannabis – il est illégal d’avoir sur vous du cannabis lorsque vous traversez la frontière des États-Unis. C’est aussi vrai si vous revenez au Canada avec du cannabis en votre possession – il est illégal de traverser la frontière si vous l’avez sur vous.

Transporter du cannabis outre frontière peut encourir des pénalités criminelles sévères, incluant l’arrestation et les poursuites. Dans le cas des États-Unis et d’autres pays, cela pourrait même mener à un refus futur de vous laisser entrer au pays.