How to Understand the Results of Your Well Water Tests


Why should I test my water?

Drinking water contaminated with disease-causing bacteria can make you or your family seriously ill. Symptoms can range from stomach cramps, nausea, diarrhea, to vomiting and fever. Testing your well water at least three times a year will help you to correct adverse water analysis results.


What do the test results mean?

Your test results may include the following terms:

Total Coliform Bacteria:

The presence of coliforms may indicate a contaminated water supply. Coliforms occur naturally in the soil and decaying vegetation, but may also be associated with human and animal fecal contamination. Given the vulnerability of well water to external influence, such as human, environmental and agricultural impacts, it is important to test water frequently.

Escherichia coli (E. coli) Bacteria:

Escherichia coli can be isolated from the fecal material found in the intestines of humans and other warm-blooded animals. These bacteria are found only in the digestive systems of people and animals. Their presence in your well is usually the result of contamination from a nearby source.

The water sample is esthetically unclean for drinking:

Public health laboratories will not analyze a sample they deem UNSUITABLE FOR TESTING due to its appearance or odour. As well, samples are sometimes returned without analysis because they contain particles and risk damaging lab equipment.

Waters that are unsuitable for testing can contain other substances such as iron or other minerals which make water unclean for drinking. In such cases, a water filtration system needs to be installed before proceeding to a bacteriological analysis of the water. Private laboratories may assist you in identifying some of these other substances.


What’s safe and what’s not safe?

SAFE RESULTS:

No significant evidence of bacterial contamination

Total coliforms : ≤ 5

E. coli: 0

Three consecutive samples with this designation, collected one to three weeks apart are required to determine the stability of the water supply. The water is considered safe to drink.

UNSAFE RESULTS:

Total coliforms: ≥ 5

E. coli: 0

Significant evidence of bacterial contamination. May be unsafe to drink. Consult the Health Unit for information.

E. coli > 0

Unsafe to drink. Evidence of fecal contamination. Consult the Health Unit for information.

Overgrown (O/G)

The crowding of bacterial growth prevents the laboratory from accurately identifying the presence of E. coli or total coliforms. The water is unsafe to drink. Consult your Health Unit.


What do I do if the tests show the water is unsafe?

If the first test results indicate the presence of coliforms or E. coli bacteria, follow the instructions for a Boil Water Advisory and consult the Eastern Ontario Health Unit (EOHU) for more information.

Possible actions to take might include:

  • Identifying and eliminating possible source of contamination
  • Disinfecting of the well (see How to Disinfect Your Well)
  • Re-sampling the well water
  • If contaminants persist, consider installing water disinfecting equipment
Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario

Comment interpréter les résultats de l’analyse d’eau de votre puits


Pourquoi analyser l’eau de mon puits?

Boire de l’eau contaminée par des bactéries peut vous rendre gravement malade. Les symptômes peuvent varier des crampes d’estomac, nausées et diarrhées aux vomissements et à la fièvre. L’analyse de l’eau de votre puits au moins trois fois par an, peut vous aider à corriger de mauvais résultats d’analyse.


Que veulent dire les résultats de l’analyse?

Les résultats de l’analyse peuvent inclure les termes suivants :

Coliformes totaux :

La présence de coliformes peut indiquer la contamination d’un approvisionnement d’eau. Les coliformes se produisent naturellement dans le sol et la végétation en décomposition, mais ils peuvent aussi être associés à la contamination fécale humaine ou animale. Étant donné la vulnérabilité de l’eau de puits aux influences externes, comme l’incidence humaine, environnementale ou agricole, il est important de faire analyser l’eau souvent.

Bactérie Escherichia coli (E. coli) :

La bactérie Escherichia coli est un pathogène qui se trouve dans la matière fécale des humains et des autres animaux à sang chaud. La présence dans votre puits de ces bactéries qui habitent uniquement le système digestif des humains et des animaux, est habituellement le résultat d’une contamination par une source à proximité.

L’échantillon d’eau est esthétiquement impropre à la consommation :

Les laboratoires de santé publique peuvent décider de ne pas faire l’analyse de l’échantillon s’ils le jugent INAPTE AUX TESTS à cause de son apparence ou son odeur. L’échantillon est parfois retourné avec une indication de particules dans l’échantillon. Il n’est pas analysé à cause du risque qu’il présente pour l’équipement du laboratoire.

Ces eaux peuvent contenir d’autres substances, telles que du fer ou d’autres minéraux qui rendent l’eau impropre à la consommation. Dans ces cas, il faut d’abord installer un système de filtration d’eau avant de procéder à l’analyse bactériologique de l’eau. Les laboratoires privés peuvent vous aider dans l’identification de ces autres substances.


Qu’est-ce qui est sécuritaire et qu’est-ce qui ne l’est pas?

RÉSULTATS SÉCURITAIRES :

Aucun indice probant d’une contamination bactérienne

Coliformes totaux : ≤ 5

E. coli : 0

Trois échantillons consécutifs n’ayant aucune bactérie pris dans un intervalle de 1 à 3 semaines sont requis pour déterminer la stabilité de l’approvisionnement d’eau. L’eau est considérée sécuritaire à la consommation.

RÉSULTATS NON SÉCURITAIRES :

Coliformes totaux : ≥ 5

E. coli : 0

Des indices probants indiquent une contamination bactérienne. Ne consommez pas l’eau. Consultez le Bureau de santé pour plus de renseignements.

E. coli > 0

Ne consommez pas l’eau. Des indices probants indiquent une contamination fécale. Consultez le Bureau de santé pour plus de renseignements.

Surabondance (O/G)

L’ampleur de la croissance bactérienne empêche le laboratoire d’identifier avec précision la présence de la bactérie E. coli ou de coliformes totaux. Ne consommez pas l’eau. Consultez le Bureau de santé pour plus de renseignements.


Que faire si les analyses indiquent que l’eau n’est pas sécuritaire?

Si les premiers résultats indiquent la présence de bactéries coliformes ou E. coli, suivez les directives pour un avis d’ébullition de l’eau et consultez le Bureau de santé de l’est de l’Ontario (BSEO) pour de plus amples renseignements.

Mesures potentielles à prendre :

  • Identifier et éliminer la source possible de contamination
  • Désinfecter le puits (consultez Comment désinfecter votre puits)
  • Analyser l’eau du puits à nouveau
  • Si la contamination persiste, considérer l’installation d’un appareil pour désinfecter l’eau
Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario