Small Drinking Water Systems

Cities get their drinking water from municipal drinking water systems. Stringent regulations make sure this water is safe before people drink it. But businesses located in rural or remote areas often use Small Drinking Water Systems (SDWS) such as private wells or surface water drawn from rivers, lakes or ponds.

If your business makes drinking water available to the public, and doesn’t use a municipal water source, you may have a Small Drinking Water System (SDWS). As an owner of an SDWS, you have the legal responsibility to take steps to ensure that the water is safe to drink. Businesses with this responsibility include:

  • Restaurants
  • Hotels and motels
  • Trailer parks and campgrounds
  • Gas stations
  • Marinas
  • Places of worship
  • Recreational facilities and clubs
  • Other facilities that provide the general public with access to a washroom, drinking water fountain or shower

If you are an owner/operator of an SDWS, or think you may be the owner/operator of an SDWS, it’s important to be aware of the regulations governing the operation of SDWS. SDWS are governed by the Health Protection and Promotion Act: O. Reg 319/08 (Small Drinking Water Systems). The program is administered by local boards of health, including the Eastern Ontario Health Unit.

Consult the resources and links listed below for more detailed information about your legal responsibilities under the regulations.

For more information, or if you’re not sure whether your system is affected by the regulations, contact the Eastern Ontario Health Unit at 613-933-1375 or at 1 800 267-7120.

Forms

Links


Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario

Petits réseaux d'eau potable

Les villes obtiennent leur eau potable des réseaux municipaux d’alimentation en eau potable. Des règlements stricts permettent de s’assurer que l’eau est salubre avant que les gens ne la boivent. Cependant, les entreprises qui se trouvent dans les régions rurales ou éloignées utilisent souvent de petits réseaux d’eau potable, comme des puits privés ou des eaux de surface puisées dans les rivières, les lacs ou les étangs.

Si votre entreprise met de l’eau potable à la disposition du public et qu’elle n’est pas alimentée par un réseau municipal d’eau potable, vous avez peut-être un petit réseau d’eau potable. En tant que propriétaire d’un tel réseau, vous avez la responsabilité légale de prendre les mesures qui s’imposent pour vous assurer que l’eau peut être bue sans danger. Parmi les entreprises qui ont une telle responsabilité, on peut citer :

  • les restaurants
  • les hôtels et motels
  • les parcs pour caravanes et les terrains de camping
  • les stations-service
  • les marinas
  • les lieux de culte
  • les installations et les clubs de loisirs
  • les autres installations où le public a accès à des toilettes, à des fontaines ou à des douches

Si vous êtes le propriétaire ou l’exploitant d’un petit réseau d’eau potable, il est important d’être au courant des règlements qui régissent l’exploitation de tels réseaux. Les petits réseaux d’eau potable sont régis par des règlements (disponibles en anglais seulement) établis en vertu de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé: Règl. de l’Ont. 319/08 (Small Drinking Water Systems). Les bureaux de santé locaux dont le Bureau de santé de l’est de l’Ontario administrent le programme.

Consultez les ressources et les liens énumérés ci-dessous pour plus d’information sur la responsabilité légale qui vous revient en vertu des règlements.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, ou pour vérifier si votre réseau est touché par les nouveaux règlements, communiquez avec le Bureau de santé de l’est de l’Ontario au 613-933-1375 ou au 1 800 267-7120.

Formulaires

Liens


Eastern Ontatio Health Unit / Bureau de santé de l'Ontario